top of page

St Mark's Players

a non-profit participatory theatre company performing on Capitol Hill within
St. Marks Church, 301 A Street SE, Washington, DC 20003

Jump to: Awards | Friends


Executive Board
   President: Margaret Chapman

   Vice-President: *Suzanne Wells

   Secretary: Heather Danskin

   Treasurer: Anu Torgal

   Technical Director: Ernie Molina

   Artistic Director: Alicia Yass

   At Large Members:
      Caroline Adams
*Sarah Bender

      Sydney Davis
      Corey Walz

*St. Mark’s Church Member


  • All are elected to 3 year terms.  Officers serve for 2 years.

  • No member may serve for more than 9 consecutive years.

  • President & Secretary – Elected in Odd Number Years

  • Vice President & Treasurer – Elected in Even Number Years


The St. Mark’s Players give or participate in the following awards:

President’s Achievement Award
This  is our most prestigious award.  The President’s Achievement Award is to Acknowledge Exemplary Service.


Board of Director Awards
These awards, started in 2009, recognize those who’s service has gone above and beyond over the last season.


Coveted Ellie’s
These awards are our version of the “Tony’s”.  Named after our founder, Ellen Cardwell, these awards can be fun or serious.

The Rick Hayes Award for Artistic Achievement 
This award is given from time to time to mark excellence in an SMP production, whether as a performer, musician, or in a technical capacity. The award is a suitable memorial to the exceptionally talented Rick Hayes, and its inclusive nature reflects Rick’s versatility, who excelled as a Director, Actor, hair and make up artist and light operator.

Robert Joyce Memorial Fund and Award for Dance
Robert Joyce was a very gifted choreographer, dancer and actor who was a treasured friend and member of the St. Mark’s Players. Each year we recognize an individual that embodies the spirt of Robert through their dance.  Robert felt that all of us can dance.

James Isaac Thomas Award
This award is given by Inez Lester, the daughter of James Isaac Thomas, to an individual that brings smiles, laughter and good cheer to the St. Mark’s Players.


WATCH – Washington Area Theater Community Honors
The Washington Area Theatre Community Honors (WATCH) is an organization founded for the adjudication and presentation of annual awards recognizing artistic and technical excellence in community theatre throughout the metropolitan Washington, D.C. area


NVTA – formerly Northern Virginia Theater Alliance 
NVTA was founded in 1980 to further communications, involvement and support among community theatres, as well as increasing community interest and awareness of theatre activity in the Northern Virginia and Metropolitan area.  We participated in their one act festival for several years.

Ruby Griffith Awards 
The British Players sponsor the Ruby Griffith Competition, with awards given for all‑around production excellence to amateur theatre groups in the area.


St. Marks Episcopal Church

Washington Area Theater Community Honors (WATCH)

Dramatic Publishing

Musical Theater International (MTI)

Tams-Witmark Music Library

Samuel French

Eldridge Plays & Musicals

Pioneer Drama

Rodgers & Hammerstein Organization


Maryland Theater Guide

bottom of page